Shadows of Imeria – April 2017 Update

Happy Birthday to me! Although it was days ago and not today.

Enough birthday wishes, I am sorry to inform you that I was not as productive as I thought I would be, at least not with my writing. I managed to get an extra of 16 hours of work each week and that’s 16 hours less that I can write each week, a tragedy, yes, but it’s okay.

It is almost time. After this year of hard work, 12 months and 8 days of it to be precise, I can almost start editing Shadows of Imeria. I have almost (but not quite) built upon the world enough to start giving better-detailed descriptions of areas, places where the reader can learn about the history of the world over time, etc.  I will still need to work on it for a week or two before I can start my edits though.

There was something I had to do that I didn’t expect though. I mapped the entire journey of the novel out and calculated the time it took to get from one place to another in the way it was traveled (by foot, horse or boat). It was enough math to make my head explode but the results were worth it. This took about four days and I actually enjoyed it when I didn’t feel like my head was going to burst. Here’s a photo of it, I know it doesn’t look like much but it helped make the story so much better, cleaner, and more realistic.

And I should really be honest with you all, I just didn’t give it my all. Next month will be different, it has to be. I’ll work harder, write faster (without losing the quality of course!) and I’ll do my absolute best.

Over the next month, I will finish the worldbuilding side of my journey and I’ll hopefully have sticky notes smeared across the printed pages of my manuscript, many different colors highlighted for dialogue, red pen ink scattered across the margins and gaps in the text for the addition and subtraction of information and quality, and much more. It’ll be one giant paper mess and maybe, just maybe I will get through the whole manuscript. I doubt that though, that’s a lot of work to do.

Shadows of Imeria – April 2017 Update

Leave a Reply

