Make a Scene – Review

I rate this novel, Four of Five stars!

I found this book to be very useful. I was at a stage in my writing where I needed to improve before tackling the next stage of my novel. Make a Scene allowed me to see where a lot of my faults and weaknesses were and showed me how to start working on them. Jordan goes through the process of taking scenes apart and inspecting each element of what makes them work, then she tells us in a way in which we can understand it. She focuses on what works, what does not and how each element of a scene will affect the reader.

Just as the description of the novel states, Jordan takes you through Setting, Plot, Characters, Scene Types, Points of View and much more. Jordan explains to you, many building blocks to creating solid and beautiful scenes through easy to understand terminology and instructions. Included in the chapters within the book, are pieces taken from successful novels and then examined to show you why they work well in certain aspects of scene building.

I learned a lot by taking the information I needed from the pages within. I am sure that the things I learned will help me a great deal. Things such as character development, adding emotion to scenes, including senses to scenes, enhancing the plot, figuring out what types of scenes exist and a few other things will allow my ability to create scenes evolve further as I put the knowledge I learned, to good use. Most of all, when looking through your unpolished manuscript, the instructions within will help you beyond what I can explain.

After reading, you will be looking at things with a more critical eye, with scenes, you will be asking yourself:
Does this scene introduce new plot information? Does it relate to the main plotline? Does it flow from and build upon the last scene? Does it involve, inform, or affect the/a protagonist? Does it allow the reader learn more? Does it move forward in time?

Aside from these questions, with each element of writing a scene, you will have more questions for yourself about what you are writing.

This book is a great resource that will hopefully show you things you didn’t even think about when writing a scene. Whether you are a successful author, an aspiring writer or just a hobbyist, this can definitely help you in learning more when it comes to crafting scenes.

I used this resource to help in my editing stage to teach me about what I am missing, but it could be read at any time in your writing journey. I can say, without a doubt, this is a resource that is worth having, either in EBook or in print.

There were a few formatting errors within it that jumped out at me and the occasional grammatical error, but other than those, I have to say, it is an invaluable piece of writing that will help me in the days to come. Four out of five stars for Jordan Rosenfeld’s, Make a Scene.

Make a Scene – Review

Leave a Reply

