The Worlds in My Head

Many times in my life, people have told me about how they can get so into a book that they jump into that world while they are reading it.

I will have to admit, I have never been able to actually do this. Instead, I have worlds in my head. I don’t need paper on a page to see the story of a character be told, I live through it whenever I feel like it.

I can view a building in a fantasy world while the characters practice magic and swordplay. I can watch the magical beasts I’ve created while fight for a show of dominance. View the armies of the land decimate each other. And of course, witness the saddest and happiest parts of that world unfold.

So, I may not be able to hallucinate when I read like a lot of readers do. But when I write, or even when I think about the worlds I write about, I am actually there without reading, just with a little bit of focus.

The Worlds in My Head

Leave a Reply

